A PetPocketbook alternative for a solo sitter

PetPocketbook describes itself as software for the modern dog walker, with one price and no tiers, which makes it one of the simpler things on this list to compare. It is client facing, with a portal owners log into and payments taken through the platform. PetSit is the opposite choice on both counts. Here is what each publishes.

Side by side

What you are comparing PetPocketbook PetSit
Price $25 a month, or $23.75 a month billed yearly. Clients who pay through the platform add a 5 percent service fee; payments taken outside it do not. $5 a month, or $50 a year. One flat price, no per booking fees and nothing charged per person.
Who it is for Dog walkers and pet care businesses. Their own words are software for the modern dog walker. One person who runs their own pet sitting business and keeps their own client list.
Staff seats Not stated on their site. Their page lists team management tools without saying how staff are charged. None. PetSit is built for one person, so there are no seats to add and none to pay for.
Client portal or app Yes. A pet parent portal is part of the client tools. No. Your clients never log in and never install anything.
Invoicing Yes. Automated invoicing and payments. Yes. Invoices come off the bookings, and French invoices carry Factur-X, the electronic invoice format France asks for.
Scheduling Yes. Scheduling, visit tracking and report cards for walking, sitting, overnights, daycare, training and grooming. Yes. A stay of several days is one booking, not one entry per day, and the charge is worked out for you.
Calendar sync Not stated on their site. Yes. A calendar feed you subscribe to once from Apple Calendar, Google Calendar or Outlook.
Languages Not stated on their site. English and French, everywhere in the app.
Free trial 30 days. 30 days.
Card required Not stated on their site. No.

Their prices and features as published on 13 September 2026, read from PetPocketbook. Software pricing changes, so check their page yourself before you decide.

The service fee is part of the price

Their page states a 5 percent service fee when clients pay through the platform, and no fee when payment happens outside it. So the real monthly cost depends on how your clients pay you. Work it out on your own turnover before comparing the subscription figures, because on a busy month the fee can be the larger number.

PetSit never touches your money. There is no payment processing, no fee on what your clients pay you, and nothing that changes with your turnover.

What their page does not say

Their pricing page does not say how staff or team members are charged, or whether a card is needed to start the 30 day trial, so those cells say so rather than guessing.

Who should choose which

Choose PetPocketbook if you want a portal your clients log into, payments collected inside the software, and report cards going out after visits, across walking, sitting, overnights, daycare, training and grooming. One price, no tiers to work through, and a 30 day trial.

Choose PetSit if you would rather your clients kept texting you, you take payment the way you already take it, and you want the quiet half done properly: pet care notes, multi day stays as one booking, the multi pet maths, invoices, a calendar feed. One flat price with no fee on your takings, in English and French.

Start your free 30 day PetSit trial

No card. If you leave, your records export to JSON and CSV whenever you ask for them. You can also open the live demo first, with no signup at all.

The other comparisons